轻量化

现代人追求轻巧、舒适、环保,轻量化已然成为一种趋势。在交通运输和航空航天部件中的应用尤为突出,得益于低密度材料的使用,最终产品的重量得以减轻,这将大量减少燃油消耗,实现交通运输低碳化,保护环境。研究表明,汽车重量每减轻10%,燃油效率就可提高6%-8%,这意味着,当汽车重量每减少100公斤,百公里油耗即可降低0.3-0.5升。此外,使用低密度材料可在制造产品时降低原材料的用量,有利于自然资源的保护。 微球可作为发泡剂或轻质填料添加到热塑性塑料(如PP、PE、PVC、PET、TPR、TPU、TPV、PA、PC、PBT、PET)、热固性塑料(如聚氨酯、环氧树脂、酚醛树脂)、橡胶(如三元乙丙橡胶

如三元乙丙橡胶、天然橡胶、丁苯橡胶)、水泥、陶瓷、人造大理石、石膏及纸/纸板等材质中。其在实际应用过程中操作非常方便,通常无需对材料及工艺进行更改,即可实现很好的整体效果,同时可带来以下优点:

  • 大幅降低产品的密度;
  • 降低原材料成本和运输成本;
  • 改善注塑件翘曲和收缩的情况;
  • 降低材料的介电常数;
  • 减少材料冷却时间,缩短整体成型周期,提高生产率。 但与此同时,微球发泡会在材料基质中产生孔隙,使材料的断裂伸长率和拉伸强度有所降低,但降低幅度远低于微球发泡所带来的密度降低。

1玻璃纤维增强型热塑性塑料 (GMT)

随着人们对汽车能耗、环境等认识的深入,汽车轻量化和环境友好逐渐成为趋势。轻质GMT作为一种具有潜在轻量化价值的环保材料,受到了广泛关注。

添加了微球的GMT具有以下优势:

  1. 重量从1000g/m2降到600g/m2;
  2. 体积增大因而具有更强的承重能力,厚度可增加至原来的2-3倍;
  3. 微球可以支撑玻璃纤维,其物理机械性能提高20%;
  4. 由于微球的内压和回弹性,其尺寸更具稳定性;
  5. 具有隔音性、隔热性。

2汽车底盘涂料(UBC)

汽车底盘及裙边常因暴露在外而受到灰尘、碎石、石头等磨损性材料的冲击或者水、湿气、冰、盐、酸雨等的侵蚀。为避免以上情况对汽车底盘和裙边的影响,可喷涂一层400-1000μm厚的涂层。对于中高级轿车,底涂须达到8.5-9.5kg,出于性价比的考量,汽车制造商期望汽车轻量化不影响底涂的耐磨性和防腐性,同时保证降低环境污染。

通过向底涂基质中添加可膨胀微球,经过烘烤、固化阶段后,可带来以下优势:

  1. 产品在达到理想厚度的情况下重量减轻50%;
  2. 环保无毒;
  3. 传统发泡工艺下,发泡剂受热经过化学作用将气体释放出来,孔洞不均匀、气泡尺寸不同、分布不规则,这些因素均会影响到外表面效果。孔洞和不均匀的结构对力学性能产生影响,会导致耐磨性差,耐腐蚀性降低,湿气容易渗入并滞留。可膨胀微球致密的结构使其与高抵抗性基质融为一体,从而产生良好的保护性;
  4. 隔音性、隔热性。

3超高温热塑性塑料(PP、PA、PC、PET/PBT、PPS)

超高温可膨胀微球应用到注塑温度为210℃以上的热塑性材料的注塑中,如PP、PA、PC、PET/PBT、PPS等塑料。在注塑过程中微球受热膨胀,实现可控发泡,帮助塑料生成均匀的密闭微孔结构,在降低密度的同时可改善塑料的流动性,使成型及冷却过程中注塑件各部位温度更为均匀,从而有效降低翘曲风险。

在工程塑料的注塑中,添加超高温可膨胀微球,制品密度可减轻15-30%左右,从而降低成本。以PC材料注塑为例,没有超高温可膨胀微球的加入,如何减重就成为令企业头疼的课题。如今,只需加入2%的超高温可膨胀微球,注塑温度达到260℃时,注射压力为65MPa,在冷却时间为45s的条件下,PC制品密度可以降低30%。但与此同时,微球发泡会在材料基质中产生孔隙,使材料的断裂伸长率和拉伸强度有所降低,但降低幅度远低于微球发泡所带来的密度降低。

Light Weight

The modern society is under the pursuit of lightness, comfort and environmental friendliness, making lightweight a popular tendency. In the transportation industry as well as the production and usage of aeronautic component, the need of light weight is even more highlighted

It is known that the application of low-density material could effectively reduce the load weight thus cut down the fuel consumption and carbon emission to protect the environment. According to the study statistic, for every 10% reduction in vehicle weight, the fuel efficiency can be increased by 6%-8%. That means, if the car weight could be brought down by 100kg, the fuel consumption per 100 km would be reduced by 0.3-0.5 liters. Besides, low-density material also means less demand of raw material in the manufacturing process which conduces to the conservation of natural resources.

The expandable microspheres can serve as light weight additive or blowing agent for a wide range of materials namely thermoplastics (such as PP, PE, PVC, PET, TPR, TPU, TPV, PA, PC, PBT, PET), thermosetting plastics (such as polyurethane, epoxy resin, Phenolic resin), rubber (such as EPDM rubber, natural rubber, styrene butadiene rubber), cement, ceramics, artificial marble, plaster and paper/cardboard.

In addition, it is very convenient to use in the application. Usually, it is not necessary to change the material or process to achieve a good overall effect. At the same time, it can bring the following advantages:

  • Reduce the density of products by a large margin
  • Reduce the cost of raw materials and transportation.
  • Control the warpage and shrinkage of injection parts;
  • Reduce the dielectric constant of the material.;
  • Reduce the cooling time of materials, shorten the overall forming cycle and improve productivity. However, it is also unavoidable that the microsphere expansion will cause voids in the matrix material and reduce the break elongation and tensile strength of the material. Nevertheless, this reduction is much lower compared with the density reduction it brings.

Case Studies

1Glass Mat reinforced Thermoplastics
(GMT)

As people’s understanding of the automobile energy consumption and the sustainable development goes profounder, lightweight of vehicle and environmental friendliness have been attached great importance and become a growing trend. As an environmentally-friendly material with potential lightweight capacity, lightweight GMT has received wide attention.

GMT with microspheres has the following advantages:

  1. Weight reduced from 1000g/m2 to 600g/m2.
  2. Volume increased and thus load-bearing capacity gets higher, thickness increased 2-3 times.
  3. Physical and mechanical properties improved by 20% owing to the support for glass fiber given by microsphere.
  4. More stable size due to the internal pressure and resilience of the microspheres.
  5. Sound and heat insulation.

2Vehicle underbody coating (UBC)

The chasis and the skirt of a car are usually exposed to abrasive condition with dust, gravel, stones, or corroded by climatic factors like water, moisture, ice, salt and even acid rain. In order to avoid the above-mentioned effects, a 400-1000 μm-thick coating is necessarily needed. Generally speaking, middle and high class sedans need to wear a UBC of 8.5-9.5 kg

For cost-effective purpose, automobile manufacturers expect the car to be as light as possible. Meanwhile, it should not affect the wear resistance and corrosion resistance of the primer while meeting the need to reduce environmental pollution.

Provided adding expandable microspheres to the UBC, after baking and curing process, the following advantages can be achieved:

  1. The product is 50% lighter when it reaches the desired thickness;
  2. Environmentally friendly and non-toxic;
  3. The traditional foaming process usually fails to form uniformed forming holes. The bubble created have diverse sizes and irregular distribution, which will interactively influence the utter surface. Holes and unbalanced structures weaken the mechanical properties, resulting in poor wear resistance, corrosion resistance and moisture retention. In contrast, the expandable microspheres possess dense structure which well integrates with the highly resistant matrix to produce comprehensive protection;
  4. Sound and heat insulation.

3Ultrahigh temperature thermoplastics
(PP、PA、PC、PET/PBT、PPS)

The ultra-high temperature expandable microspheres, such as PP、PA、PC、PET/PBT、PPS, are applied to thermoplastic materials with a injected molding temperature of no less than 210 ℃. During the injection molding process, the microspheres are thermally expanded to achieve controlled foaming, which helps to form a uniform sealed micro-porous structure and to improve the mobility of the plastic. Meanwhile it reduces the density and make a uniformed temperature in each part of the piece during the molding and cooling process. All above effects help reduce the risk of warping.

When it comes to the injection molding of engineering plastics, the addition of ultra-high temperature expandable microspheres can save cost by decreasing the product density by about 15-30%.Taking PC material injection molding as an example, how to reduce weight without adding ultra-high temperature expandable microspheres has always been a headache for many enterprises. Now it is no longer the case. The density of PC products could be brought down by 30% with only 2% of ultra-high temperature expandable microspheres, under the circumstance of molding temperature of 260 ° C, injection pressure of 65 MPa and cooling time of 45 s. However, it is also not avoidable that the microsphere expansion will cause voids in the matrix material and reduce the break elongation and tensile strength of the material. Nevertheless, this reduction is much lower compared with the density reduction it brings.